PDA

View Full Version : Scam perhaps?


adamantium
December 15th, 2006, 10:46 AM
My cousin has been looking to get a loan to start a restaurant for a long while, and he found this website today http://www.easyloanfinancial.com/index.htm . I guess he filled out the application and everything and a guy called him about it and talked to him, but it sounds kind of weird. There were three different ways of getting the loan, and one of them the guy said was to give them 5k for loan insurance and then they could give them the loan. What I want to know is: does this look like a scam to you? I'm glad he hesitated before doing it because I honestly think it is a load of bull, but what do you guys think?

Edit: Just saw that the company contact is a Hotmail account, rofl, gotta be a scam.

treget
December 15th, 2006, 10:58 AM
internet sleuth

that picture, the guy w/ the cell phone is from another site.

http://www.wetip.com/ (just google the image name from the loan site, 04017550000, and that site comes up.

that other picture is also on 2 other websites, http://tinyurl.com/ylde2h

and if you search that adress, the address is real, but the business that is located there is not.

and if you simply google the exact name, Easy Loan Financial, the link isn't on the first 4 pages and i stopped looking after that. if you know how google's system works, its not looking good for your cousin.

i wouldn't do it, even if it wasn't a scam.

zany
December 15th, 2006, 11:08 AM
wtf jon, just tell him there is no chance in hell that can turn out good

Breaker
December 15th, 2006, 01:47 PM
Send them an envelope full of white powder. They will get media attention and be exposed. Sugar or something, i don't need the fbi following me around.

colin
December 15th, 2006, 04:45 PM
wait...

they want you to give them money for loan insurance? doesn't that defeat the entire purpose of the loan?

what the fuck is loan insurance?

Nine
December 15th, 2006, 04:48 PM
what the fuck is loan insurance?some people call it collateral.

others run internet scams.

CR0C0DILE
December 15th, 2006, 05:21 PM
I will give your cousin the loan, just send me the 5,000$ instead! paypal it to my email and your loan will be on its way!

[-n0s-]
December 15th, 2006, 07:24 PM
A "John Smith" from Canada owns the domain. How interesting.

CR0C0DILE
December 15th, 2006, 07:56 PM
Let's see, you want to borrow 10,000$ to start a business, so I say ok send me 5,000$ to hold as collateral and then Ill send you the 10,000$. So now you have 10,000$ when you originally had 5. Why doesnt this work though? Because I am actually only loaning you 5,000$ so why bother with making you send me 5, and me sending it back to you...I could just hold onto my other 5,000 as collateral then and just send you the other 5,000$ without you having to send me anything. So since the arrangement makes no sense, something is wrong.
Now looking at their webpage it sucks...no clickable items except the online application which asks for your information including your social security number. So now this guy has enough of your information to get a credit card in your name, or your cousin's name in your case or in his business's name.
You should advise him to start checking his credit reports now. He might see some new accounts on them very soon.
Oh and heres a link for ya
http://www.spokane.bbb.org/alerts/alerts.html?newsid=896&newstype=1

illskillz
December 15th, 2006, 09:19 PM
that clipart image above the navigation is cool

adamantium
December 16th, 2006, 12:25 PM
Yeah, thanks for the replies, I pretty much knew as soon as I saw that hotmail account on there for a contact. Also, they actually called my cousin back, and one of the three supposed options was to cosign with someone you knew who had a lot of property value, and so my cousin told the lady that he would like to do that instead of sending the 5k (he was not going to do this either, he was just testing her to see what she would say) and she said something along the lines of "well we don't recommend that as you probably do not know someone with enough property value to cosign with for a loan this big." He replied to her stating that our grandfather owns a very large house and tons of land with cattle that is worth around one million and she started stuttering and saying more stuff about how they do not recommend the cosigning option. Pretty funny.

Anyway, thanks for the internet sleuthing :D

Bad Luck
December 16th, 2006, 02:18 PM
"we need $10,000 for insurance before we give you this $10,000 loan"

ooz
December 19th, 2006, 02:44 AM
http://www.easyloanfinancial.com/contact_us.htm

The e-mail address gives it away.

colin
December 19th, 2006, 06:21 AM
i was at a subway tonight that had a big customer service sign hanging from the ceiling, signed with an aol e-mail address